作者:FIDO联盟执行董事兼首席运营官Christina Hulka

FIDO Authentication(FIDO身份验证)已在网络上获得广泛支持–目前所有主要的操作系统、浏览器和数十亿台设备都支持FIDO Authentication(FIDO身份验证)。 在取得这一里程碑式的成就以及众多服务提供商纷纷推出FIDO之后,FIDO联盟越来越关注如何让FIDO身份验证更加实用,让所有人都能使用FIDO身份验证。

在实现FIDO联盟的使命–更安全的免密码身份验证–的过程中,我们必须确保满足残障人士的需求和偏好。 今天,我们很高兴地宣布发布《FIDO部署对残障用户无障碍指南》,为规划FIDO部署提供指导,使各种残障用户都能无障碍地使用FIDO。 它还旨在帮助硬件制造商寻找机会,提供更方便的外部验证器。

据估计,当今世界有 15%的人口患有某种残疾,许多国家的法律禁止歧视,以帮助确保这些人能够充分、平等地参与社会的方方面面。 身份验证是参与能力的重要组成部分,因为它提供了进入社会许多方面的数字通道,包括(但不限于)教育、就业和娱乐。 虽然短信或电子邮件代码等传统形式的多因素身份验证(MFA)在技术上是 “可访问的”,但它们通常需要高级技能、知识和/或辅助技术才能输入代码。 FIDO 拥有更强大、更简单的身份验证模式,能够提供无障碍身份验证服务,因为它支持广泛的选项,能够满足各种不同的需求。 今天发布的文件详细介绍了在部署FIDO时考虑残疾人需求的原因和注意事项。 我们强烈建议服务提供商在规划其 FIDO 部署时参考这些指南。

这篇论文经过了大量的工作和合作。 我们要感谢 Meta 公司的姚明作为本文第一作者所做的大量工作。 我们还要感谢 VMware 的 Joyce Oshita 所做的贡献,包括她作为一名失明人士提供的自己利用包括 FIDO 在内的各种身份验证方法的经验。

除白皮书外,姚明和乔伊斯还将于美国东部时间 2022 年 12 月 15 日下午 2 点参加网络研讨会,讨论他们对这一主题的看法。 要参加网络研讨会,请在此处注册

本文可在此处查阅;欢迎提出反馈意见,请发送邮件至info@fidoalliance.org

December 8, 2022

FIDO Alliance Provides Guidance on Making FIDO Deployments Accessible to People with Disabilities

By Christina Hulka, executive director and COO of the FIDO Alliance

FIDO Authentication has reached broad support across the web – all major operating systems, browsers and billions of devices support FIDO Authentication today. Having reached such a milestone and the resulting FIDO roll outs from a broad array of service providers, the FIDO Alliance is increasingly focused on ways to make FIDO Authentication more usable and accessible for all. 

In achieving FIDO Alliance’s mission of more secure and password-free authentication, we must ensure that we meet the needs and preferences of people with disabilities. Today, we are pleased to announce the publication of “Guidance for Making FIDO Deployments Accessible to Users with Disabilities,” to provide guidance on planning FIDO deployments that are accessible to users with a wide range of disabilities. It also aims to help hardware manufacturers identify opportunities to deliver more accessible external authenticators.

An estimated 15% of the world’s population lives with some sort of disability today, and in many countries, laws prohibit discrimination to help ensure that these people can fully and equally participate in every aspect of society. Authentication is an important component of the ability to participate, as it provides digital access to many aspects of society including (but not limited to) education, employment, and entertainment. While legacy forms of multi-factor authentication (MFA) like SMS or email codes are technically “accessible,” they often require advanced skill, knowledge and/or assistive technology to enter the codes. FIDO, with its stronger and simpler authentication model, is well positioned to provide accessible authentication, as it supports a wide range of options that accommodate vastly diverse needs. The paper released today details why, and considerations for, deploying FIDO with the needs of people with disabilities in mind. We strongly encourage service providers to reference these guidelines in planning their FIDO deployments.

Much work and collaboration went into this paper. We would like to thank Yao Ming of Meta for his extensive work as lead author on this paper. We’d also like to thank Joyce Oshita of VMware for her contributions, including providing her own experiences leveraging various authentication methods, including FIDO, as a person who has lost her eyesight. 

In addition to the white paper, Yao and Joyce will be joining us on December 15, 2022 at 2pm ET for a webinar to discuss their perspectives on this topic. To attend the webinar, register here.

The paper is available here; feedback is always appreciated – please drop a line at info@fidoalliance.org.  

MORE Building the Business Case


White Paper: FIDO Authentication in Digital Payment Security

The Indian Payments ecosystem is going through rapid change and...

September 8, 2022

Charting an Accelerated Path Forward for Passwordless Authentication Adoption

Andrew Shikiar, executive director and CMO, FIDO Alliance FIDO Alliance...

March 17, 2022

The Value of Certification

Hear from FIDO’s Dr. Rae Rivera about the value of...

October 26, 2021
Download Authn Specs
Sign up for updates!Get news from FIDO Alliance in your inbox.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive communications from: FIDO Alliance, 3855 SW 153rd Drive, Beaverton, OR 97003, US, http://www.fidoalliance.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the unsubscribe link found at the bottom of every email.