概述

PLUSCARD 是一家为德国 140 家金融机构提供全方位服务的处理器,它与 Entersekt 及其合作伙伴 Netcetera 合作,于 2021 年 6 月在欧洲推出了第一个 FIDO 认证的基于应用程序的身份验证替代方案 。 该解决方案使客户可以选择使用 FIDO2 安全密钥来验证自己,以便利用最新的 EMV 3DS 协议向在线商家付款。

挑战:无需移动设备即可进行身份验证

PLUSCARD 需要一种方法来验证客户的在线交易身份,而无需依赖符合 PSD2 安全性和可用性法规的移动设备。

每笔必须由PLUSCARD认证的在线支付都需要验证账户或卡数据是否由合法持卡人输入。 存在各种方法可以证明在线购物者的身份,但大多数方法都需要使用移动应用程序。 对于没有移动设备或更喜欢通过笔记本电脑或计算机付款的客户,可用的安全替代方案很少。

公司简介


PLUSCARD卡:
为德国 140 家金融机构提供全方位服务的处理器

网络:
数字支付解决方案的市场领导者

Entersekt:
强大的客户认证专家

“你不一定会通过良好的身份验证来吸引客户,但你绝对不会因此而失去任何客户。”

– Petra Silsbee,PLUSCARD 预防/争议管理部门主管

通往 FIDO 之路:称量符合 PSD2 标准的选项

由于引入了 PSD2 和强客户身份验证 (SCA),欧盟的客户身份验证程序变得更加复杂。 根据该法规,通过移动设备进行处理可确保符合更严格的要求,同时为消费者提供更好的支付体验。

虽然许多人选择使用短信一次性密码,但 PLUSCARD 从一开始就优先考虑安全性和可用性,最初选择将专有移动应用程序与生物识别技术相结合。 这满足了他们对基于移动设备的用户的需求,但为喜欢或只能访问计算机的客户留下了空白。 为了填补这一空白,PLUSCARD得出结论,FIDO2安全密钥不仅符合法规,而且与拥有移动设备无关,并且在安全性和可用性方面都表现出色。

PLUSCARD还看到了一个机会,即通过FIDO为其客户提供一致的身份验证和支付旅程。 客户不仅可以使用他们的 FIDO 安全密钥登录其他常见服务,如 Google、Github 和 Twitter,他们现在还可以使用它们登录他们的帐户并付款——所有这些都在一次购物体验中完成。

FIDO2 实施:现在和未来

PLUSCARD与Entersekt和Netcetera在其联合解决方案中实施了FIDO标准。

Entersekt在解决方案中提供了FIDO服务器,该服务器已通过FIDO联盟认证。 然后,PLUSCARD的持卡人可以在银行注册他们的FIDO安全密钥。 然后,安全密钥将链接到客户的信用卡,然后可用于在已实施 EMV 3DS 的在线商家轻松验证其在线交易。

这适用于任何已实施最新版本的 EMV 3DS 的在线商家。 但是,那些尚未更新到最新版本的商家存在挑战。


FIDO2 是一组强 身份验证标准 使用户能够利用 常见设备,如设备上的设备 生物识别和FIDO安全 用于联机身份验证的密钥 具有防网络钓鱼功能的服务 加密安全。 这 FIDO2 规范是 万维网联盟的 (W3C)Web 身份验证 (WebAuthn) 规范和 FIDO联盟的相应 客户端到身份验证器 协议 (CTAP)。

“身份验证不是一次性投资,而是一段旅程,”PLUSCARD争议管理部门主管Petra Silsbee说。

随着越来越多的商家实施支持 FIDO 身份验证的最新版本的 EMV 3DS,他们将能够将 FIDO 融入其结账身份验证流程。 随着更广泛采用,PLUSCARD正在寻求用基于FIDO的设备端身份验证选项取代其专有的移动应用程序。

宝贵的经验教训

“身份验证不是一次性投资,而是一段旅程,”PLUSCARD争议管理部门主管Petra Silsbee说。 “我们的目标不仅仅是遵守法规和要求,而是为客户提供最好的服务和体验。对可用的解决方案感到好奇,提出问题,如果以前的投资不能满足您的需求和期望,请不要害怕重新开始。

October 29, 2021

PLUSCARD uses FIDO as Innovative Alternative to App-based Payment Authentication

Overview

PLUSCARD, a full-service processor for 140 financial institutions across Germany, worked with Entersekt and its partner Netcetera to launch the first FIDO Certified alternative to app-based authentication in Europe in June 2021. The solution gives customers the option to use FIDO2 Security Keys to authenticate themselves for payments with online merchants leveraging the latest EMV 3DS protocol. 

The Challenge: Authenticating without a mobile device

PLUSCARD needed a way to authenticate customers for online transactions without relying on a mobile device that also aligned with PSD2 regulations for security and usability. 

Every online payment that must be authenticated by PLUSCARD requires a verification of whether the account or card data were entered by the legitimate cardholder. Various methods exist that prove the identity of shoppers online, however most require the use of a mobile app. For customers that do not have a mobile device or prefer to make payments via a laptop or computer, there are very few secure alternatives available. 

Company Profiles


PLUSCARD:
Full-service processor for 140 financial institutions across Germany

Netcetera:
Market leader for digital payment solutions

Entersekt:
Specialist in strong customer authentication

“You won’t necessarily attract customers with good authentication, but you definitely won’t lose any because of it.”

– Petra Silsbee, Head of Department, Prevention/Dispute Management, PLUSCARD

The Road to FIDO: Weighing PSD2-compliant options

Customer authentication procedures have become more complex in the EU due to the introduction of PSD2 and strong customer authentication (SCA). Under the regulation, processing via mobile devices guarantees compliance with the stricter requirements, while offering a better payment experience for consumers at the same time.

While many opted to use SMS OTPs, PLUSCARD prioritized security and usability from the beginning of their journey by initially opting for a proprietary mobile app in combination with biometrics. This met their needs for mobile-based users, but left a gap for customers who preferred or only had access to computers. To fill that gap, PLUSCARD concluded that FIDO2 Security Keys not only met regulations, but they weren’t tied to possession of a mobile device and excelled in both security and usability.

PLUSCARD also saw an opportunity to provide its customers with a consistent authentication and payment journey with FIDO. Not only can customers use their FIDO Security Keys to log into other common services like Google, Github and Twitter, they can now also use them to log into their account and pay — all within one shopping experience. 

FIDO2 Implementation: Today and in the future

PLUSCARD, with Entersekt and Netcetera, implemented the FIDO standard in their joint solution.

Entersekt provides a FIDO server into the solution, which is certified by the FIDO Alliance. PLUSCARD’s cardholders can then register their FIDO Security Key with their bank. The security key is then linked to the customer’s credit card and can then be used to easily authenticate their online transactions at online merchants that have implemented EMV 3DS. 

This works at any online merchant that has implemented the latest version of EMV 3DS. However, there are challenges with those merchants that have not yet updated to the newest version.


FIDO2 is a set of strong authentication standards that enables users to leverage common devices like on-device biometrics and FIDO security keys to authenticate to online services with phishing-resistant cryptographic security. The FIDO2 specifications are the World Wide Web Consortium’s (W3C) Web Authentication (WebAuthn) specification and FIDO Alliance’s corresponding Client-to-Authenticator Protocol (CTAP).

“Authentication is not a one-time investment — it’s a journey,” said Petra Silsbee, Head of Department, Dispute Management, at PLUSCARD.

As more merchants are implementing the latest version of EMV 3DS, which supports FIDO authentication, they will be able to work FIDO into their checkout authentication process. With broader adoption on the horizon, PLUSCARD is looking to replace their proprietary mobile app with a FIDO-based on-device authentication option. 

A Valuable Lesson Learned

“Authentication is not a one-time investment — it’s a journey,” said Petra Silsbee, Head of Department, Dispute Management, at PLUSCARD. “The goal isn’t just to comply with regulations and requirements, but to provide the best service and experience for customers. Be curious about the solutions available, ask questions, and don’t be afraid to start fresh if a previous investment isn’t meeting your needs and expectations.”

MORE Implementation & Deployment


PLUSCARD uses FIDO as Innovative Alternative to App-based Payment Authentication

Overview PLUSCARD, a full-service processor for 140 financial institutions across...


Solving the IoT Onboarding Challenge

Learn about FIDO’s track record of successful collaboration, the onboarding...

October 26, 2021

Yahoo! JAPAN turns to FIDO Authentication for Enhanced Login

Yahoo Japan Corporation is an internet company offering more than...

September 8, 2021

Webinar: Considerations for Deploying FIDO in the Enterprise

Passwords are archaic, and a danger to enterprise security. Now...

June 14, 2021
Download Authn Specs
Sign up for updates!Get news from FIDO Alliance in your inbox.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive communications from: FIDO Alliance, 3855 SW 153rd Drive, Beaverton, OR 97003, US, http://www.fidoalliance.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the unsubscribe link found at the bottom of every email.